Rich Owners Of IPL Franchises

Home » News » Cricket News » Rich Owners Of IPL Franchises

Do you who owns Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) and when was its name changed to Punjab Kings (PBKS)? Do you know which the richest team is and the franchise with the maximum IPL titles?

Continue reading the blog to get answers to these questions and more

10. Gujarat Titans (850 Million)

Founded: 25 October 2021, Ahmedabad, Gujarat

Owner: CVC Capital Partners

Jersey: Dark and Navy Blue

IPL Title: 2022

Captain: Hardik Pandya

Coach: Ashish Nehra

Apps/Win/Lost: 32/23/9

Top Score: 233/2 against Mumbai Indians in 2023

The Gujarat Titans franchise is the defending champion in 2023. It is a strong team led by the all-rounder Hardik Pandya who has hammered 1251 runs and taken 69 wickets in 87 T20I matches predictions. In the 2023 IPL tournament, GT reached the final. Gujarat Titans are fast emerging as a force to reckon with in IPL.

9. Punjab Kings ($925 Million)

Founded: 2008 as Kings XI Punjab, Mohali, Punjab

Owner: Mohit Burman, Ness Wadia, Preity Zinta, and Karan Paul

Jersey: Red

IPL Title: Nil

Captain: Shikhar Dhawan

Coach: Trevor Bayliss

Apps/Win/Lost: 232/106/124

Top Score: 232/2 against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011

In February 2021, the owners of Kings XI Punjab announced that the franchise will be known as Punjab Kings. Ness Wadia the 23% stakeholder of the franchise explained the reason for this change as a step to ‘relook at things’ after 13 seasons of IPL. Celebrated actress Preity Zinta has a 23% stake in PBKS. The franchise was Runners-Up in 2014.

8. Sunrisers Hyderabad ($970 Million)

Founded: 2012, Hyderabad, Telangana

Owner: Sun Group

Jersey: Orange and Black

IPL Title: 2016

Captain: Aiden Markram

Coach: Brian Lara

Apps/Win/Lost: 155/76/78

Top Score: 231/2 against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2019

Kalanidhi Maran of the Sun Group is the owner of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). It first appeared in IPL in 2013 and finished in fourth place but won the title in 2016. In 2018, SRH got another opportunity to become the champion but had to satisfy Runners-Up after losing the title to Chennai Super Kings.

7. Rajasthan Royals ($1 Billion)

Founded: 2008, Jaipur, Rajasthan

Owner: Manoj Badale

Jersey: Red and Navy Blue

IPL Title: 2008

Captain: Sanju Samson

Coach: Kumar Sangakkara

Apps/Win/Lost: 208/103/102

Top Score: 220/3 against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2021

Rajasthan Royals (RR) won the inaugural edition of IPL in 2008 under the captaincy of Shane Warne. They also finished Runners-Up in IPL 2022 under the captaincy of Sanju Samson. Manoj Badale-led Emerging Media IPL Ltd holds a 65% stake in the franchise and the rest of the holdings go to Lachlan Murdoch and RedBird Capital Partners.

6. Royal Challengers Bangalore ($1.025 Billion)

Founded: 2008, Bangalore, Karnataka

Owner: United Spirits

Jersey: Red and Black

IPL Title: NIL

Captain: Faf du Plessis

Coach: Sanjay Bangar

Apps/Win/Lost: 227/109/114

Top Score: 263/5 against Pune Warriors in 2013

United Spirits named the franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) after its popular liquor brand Royal Challenge. Three times Runners-Up in 2009, 2011, and 2016, RCB has yet to win their IPL title. But it has the credit of making both the highest and lowest scores of 236/5 and 49 respectively in IPL.

5. Delhi Capitals ($1.035 Billion)

Founded: 2008 as Delhi Daredevils, New Delhi

Owner: GMR Group & JSW Group

Jersey: Navy Blue and Red

IPL Title: Nil

Captain: David Warner

Coach: Ricky Ponting

Apps/Win/Lost: 236/104/125

Top Score: 231/4 against Kings XI in 2011

In 2008, GMR Group founded Delhi Daredevils but later sold a 50% stake in the franchise to JSW Sports in 2018. In the same year, its name was changed to Delhi Capitals. It has been Runners-Up in 2020.

4. Lucknow Super Giants ($1.075 Billion)

Founded: 2021, Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh

Owner: RPSG Group

Jersey: Dark Blue and Red

IPL Title: Nil

Captain: KL Rahul

Coach: Andy Flower

Apps/Win/Lost: 7/3/3

Top Score: 257/5 against Punjab Kings in 2023

RPSG Group previously owned the Rising Pune Supergiant franchise between 2016 and 2017 before buying LSG. The franchise is relatively new in IPL but it is doing quite well in the tournaments. For IPL 2023, the LSG franchise bought West Indies wicket-keeper batsman Nicholas Pooran for a whopping 16 crore.

3. Kolkata Knight Riders ($1.1 Billion)

Founded: 2008, Kolkata, West Bengal

Owner: Red Chillies Entertainment

Jersey: Purple and Gold

IPL Title: 2012; 2014

Captain: Nitish Rana

Coach: Chandrakant Pandit

Apps/Win/Lost: 241/120/117

Top Score: 245/6 against Punjab Kings in 2018

The franchise is owned by Shah Rukh Khan, Juhi Chawla, and Jay Mehta who also happens to be the spouse of Juhi Chawla. It is a two-time champion of the Indian Premier League and Runners-Up in 2021. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is popular because of its star power. But it proved that it has sports stars as well. Gautam Gambhir is their top run scorer and Sunil Narine is their leading wicket-taker.

2. Chennai Super Kings ($1.15 Billion)

Founded: 2008, Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Owner: N. Srinivasan

Jersey: Yellow

IPL Title: 2010; 2011; 2018; 2021

Captain: MS Dhoni

Coach: Stephen Fleming

Apps/Win/Lost: 224/129/91

Top Score: 263/5 against Pune Warriors in 2013

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) is owned by India Cements Limited under the name of Chennai Super Kings Cricket Limited. But in 2022, the company became the first unicorn sports enterprise in the country. Also, it did well on the ground. It won four titles and has been Runners-Up five times in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019. CSK is just one title short from Mumbai India.

1. Mumbai Indians ($1.3 Billion)

Founded: 2008, Mumbai, Maharashtra

Owner: Indiawin Sports

Jersey: Blue and Orange

IPL Title: 2013; 2015; 2017; 2019; 2020

Captain: Rohit Sharma

Coach: Mark Boucher

Apps/Win/Lost: 248/140/107

Top Score: 235/9 against Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2021

Indian win Sports is a 100% subsidiary of Reliance Industries, India’s biggest conglomerate. In 2017, its value crossed the $100 million mark and within two years, it became the richest IPL franchise. In addition to winning the title five times, it has been Runners-Up in 2010. Today it is the richest and also the most successful IPL franchise in the country.